Jackson Browne


Lives in the Balance

Intro: Em, D x4

         Em          D            Em        D
Ive been waiting for something to happen
      Em          D            Em        D
For a week or a month or a year
         Em            D            Em        D
With the blood in the ink of the headlines
         Em          D            Em        D
And the sound of the crowd in my ear


The Rebel Jesus

All the streets are filled with laughter and light

And the music of the season

And the merchants windows are all bright

With the faces of the children

And the families hurrying to their homes

As the sky darkens and freezes


The Pretender

Chords Used:

       G C/G   C    D G/B    Am7 Em  B7   A9  A9/G
E    -3----0-----0----2----3-------0------0-----2-----3------3-----------|
B    -0----1-----1----3----3-------1------0-----4-----2------2-----------|
G    -0----0-----0----2----0-------0------0-----2-----4------4-----------|
D    -0----2-----2----0----0-------2------2-----4-----2------2-----------|
A    -x----3-----3---------2-------0------2------2-----0------0----------|
E    -3----3-------------------------------------------------------3-----|

        D/F#    G/D     D/C  D#o7
E    ---x---------3-------2-----


You Love the Thunder

[Capo 2]

When you look over your shoulder
And you see the light that you have left behind
When you think it over, do you ever wonder
What it is that holds your life so close to mine

/ D A G - / / D A Bm - / G A G A /

You love the thunder and you love the rain
What you see revealed within the anger is worth the pain
And before the lightning fades and you surrender
You've got a second to look at the dark side of a man

You love the thunder, you love the rain
You know your hunger, oo, like you know your name
I know you wonder how you ever came


The Pretender

I'm going to rent myself a house in the shade of the freeway
I'm going to pack my lunch in the morning and go to work each day
And when the evening rolls around I'll go on home and lay my body down
And when the morning light comes streaming in
I'll get up and do it again, Amen
Say it again, Amen

/ G - C - / G - D C / G C G C /
/ G D / C Am7G / /

I want to know what became of the changes we waited for love to bring
Were they only the fitful dreams of some greater awakening